Xubuntu 13.10

-I used to run Arch on my refurbished Thinkpad X200, until one day, recently,
when I saw that the *buntu family released 13.10 AKA Saucy Salamander (or something).
Now, I’m not a big fan of *buntus, despite the fact that I love Debian, but then
I remembered that about a year and a half ago while working at my former job, I used
Kubuntu on a T410 and it worked very nice. So I downloaded the ISO, put it on a USB
stick and booted it. The first (and only) showstopper was the fact that Syslinux told
me that it couldn’t find some file. Apparently, it’s a known bug for quite a while but
it still ain’t fixed. One of the reasons I don’t like Ubuntu et co. I found a
workaround (press Tab, see the options and simply type the one you want), and
installed Xubuntu.

-I have been using it for the last two weeks and it works very nice, stable, no problems.
Besides, despite some attraction towards the geekier distros, there is something to
be said about the major ones — packages, community, and so on. All in all, I’d rate
Xubuntu 13.10 a 8/10.

Leave a Reply

