gnome-settings-daemon without pulseaudio

-I am not a very big fan of PA. It served me ok on Fedora, to be
honest, but I can’t make it work on Arch. I needed g-s-d for those
times of the year when I want to use KDE and don’t want to have
ugly GTK apps. BUT! For reasons unfathomable, g-s-d depends on PA.
In AUR there is a g-s-d-nopulse, but it fails to compile. So I got
g-s-d-git from AUR, made a backup copy of the PKGBUILD, then edited
it as to remove any traces of PA from the depends line. It compiles
fine, don’t worry, and it works equally fine.

Leave a Reply

