Thinkpad E330 and Linux

I just got this brand new Lenovo Thinkpad E330 (thanks to
you-know-who…) and I must say I am impressed. Keyboard,
speed, looks, display, everything works out of the box.
The distribution is Xubuntu 12.10 amd64. The only thing
that bothers me is that I have no VTs, but that is an
issue with Ivy Bridge GPUs that’s known for a while now.
To be fair, I am updating the system now, so perhaps the
new kernel will give me my VTs back, but that’s no biggie,
we’ll always have ssh. All in all, I’m as giddy as a little
girl. So if you need a small, quality laptop, consider this
model.
[LATER EDIT]: Upgrading the kernel to 3.8.4 (from kernel.org)
fixes the VT issues.

Leave a Reply

