Shutting down the screen in Linux without X

-The backlight of my console-only Thinkpad is bothering me at night,
so I wanted to know how to deal with it without
xset dpms force off, since, like I said, no X. All I had
to do, apparently, is install vbetool and replace xset
with it, also dropping the ‘force’ in the process. Since it involves
low-level hardware access, it requires root, a not-too-custom kernel
(I got “inappropriate ioctl…”) and some means to revive the machine’s
display. But that is left as an exercise to the reader.

Leave a Reply

