Fedora 18 upgrade guide and experiences

Hello everyone. I started upgrading my 64-bit Fedora 17 laptop to Fedora 18, and here are the
steps I took and the issues I encountered:

First, go to runlevel 3:
# yum clean all && telinit 3
Then disable all non-Fedora repositories (Google and RPMFusion, in my case).
For that, go to /etc/yum.repos.d/ as root and edit the significant files so that
they read ‘enabled=0’. Afterwards
# fedup --network 18 --debuglog $file
# reboot
Select the ‘System Upgrade (fedup)’ option when GRUB appears. Be patient.
Especially in my case, where you have a lot of packages installed,
because mainly what this step does is it installs what fedup downloaded earlier.
If everything went alright, reboot again (automatically) and select F18
(or the F18 kernel) at the GRUB menu.
It is recommended that you update GRUB:
# grub2-install $partition
# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
# ln -sf /boot/grub2/grub.cfg /etc/grub2.cfg
# reboot

These steps worked on my laptop like a charm. Now, re-enable Google, install
RPMFusion for F18, enable it, update (using –nogpgcheck) and that’s it!

That works fine, but during the update of RPMFusion packages I get ‘yum check’
errors regarding missing libs for .fc17 packages. So I ran
# yum distribution-synchronization and that solved the issue.

One thought on “Fedora 18 upgrade guide and experiences

  1. […] after an upgrade, you get errors about missing RPMFusion keys (see my post about upgrading), here’s what to […]

Leave a Reply

